Hono(u)rable Mentions

Ellen Datlow, a woman who must read more words in a week than the average person reads in a year, has put out her list of 2010’s Honorable Mentions for Horror and Dark Fantasy.  No happy stories allowed.  🙂  It’s a great list, full of friends and icons, and I’m excited to say that I’m on it too.  Twice.  “Jumbuck” from Aurealis #44 and “Linger” from Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine #46 are both on the list, which thrills me to no end.

For those of you keeping score, it’s proof that me obsessing over a story for four months, starting over eight times (Jumbuck) is just as memorable as a story that I wrote the day before a deadline once I’d finally found an idea in my head that could pass for ‘Science-fiction” (Linger) and that’s pretty awesome.  It gives me a confidence in my writing that can only come from somebody who knows what they’re talking about saying “Hey, yeah, I remember that story.”

Go me.  🙂  You can view the whole list (in two parts) here A-K http://ellen-datlow.livejournal.com/334109.html and K-Z (yes, the list dares to divide up the Ks, a bold new trend I hope catches on.  Damn uppity Ks…) http://ellen-datlow.livejournal.com/334359.html

3 responses to “Hono(u)rable Mentions

  • Thoraiya

    You know, I wish everyone would remember to mention it’s a Dark Fantasy and Horror list.

    I’m not on it cos my stories are HAPPY!! That’s my story and I’m STICKING TO IT!

    hehe, congratulations mate, I told you ‘Jumbuck’ was awesome.

  • christophergreen

    You know, if I can’t even spell the word “week” in my post, what hope to you have of accurate information throughout the rest of it? None, I tells ya. I need to stop blogging at 3 or 4 in the morning, I think. 🙂

    Fixed…

    Have you been downloading the pdfs to Arizona Afterwards, or was that just a thing you made me do for you out of spite? 🙂

  • Thoraiya

    Spite. I don’t have an e-reader, see? When I said I hate reading from a computer screen, I was actually hinting at you putting it on Lulu or somewhere I could get a print version 😀

Leave a Reply

