Worldcon notes – Bordercrossing – YA authors selling for adults and vice versa

I went to a lot of panels and heard a lot of knowledgeable people speak their mind.  So, me being me, I took notes, because I will forget stuff if I don’t.  Forgive any shorthand, and sometimes I just write down stuff in there that has meaning only to me, so, well, your kilometerage my vary…

Bordercrossing – YA authors selling for adults and vice versa
Bec Kavanagh, Marianne de Pierres, Pamela Freeman, Cory Doctorow

YA fiction can be enjoyed by A and YA

be conscious of adult themes and cursing

greater sense of responsibility to themes YA see, as their life experience more limited.

Title, cover marketing vary by country, often

accident of commerce, at times

publishers looking for crossovers

verbs as opposed to appendages in sex scenes

level of violence – trial and error

convey facts that are scarce – interesting and new

price of fact has crashed, but price of search has risen.

sex is fraught with issues for publishers – offensive because “faced no consequences”

responsibility to include things from their lives and be realistic at the same time

beer, sex, drugs are no more of consequence than for adults – pubs wince

to whom is your primary responsibility?

graphic violence is fantasy, because it’s outside of normal experience. whereas sex is
not (except for the nerds in some of the later panels)  🙂

what does the reader need, what does the story need? do that…

own the emotional landscape of the story

YA different based on location, US or Aussie

censorship vs. editting – edit yourself and know why you keep what you keep

fuck can’t happen for American Book Club – stupid American Book Club

christian right wing annoyed by magic, wizards, witches (also, good literature, it seems)

risk aversion – editors playing safe – makes business sense

harry potter changed the world

YA slump in seventies

more and more adults are reading YA

kids have money, word of mouth power, but it is the fiercest market.

people who read are not driven by fads (except for Twilight)

give kids responsobility, let them be smart.

fiction that doesn’t invoke fanfiction may not have worked.

teenager performance – when teens play a role amongst each other

anything you do every day you get better at

young people read all the time, just not books

The panel was an interesting one, with a good cross-section and differing viewpoints.  I felt like I learned a lot, and came away with a bit more respect for YA fiction (which is a good thing, since I’ve got a first draft of a YA novel looking at me from my other monitor, so I;m trying not to turn my head to the right, just now…)

Leave a Reply

