Aussie to English translations

Worldcon’s almost here, and I have a feeling that’ll mean there will be a lot more American accents in my vicinity, which will be nice, even if it does make me wince a little.  (Depends on the accent.)

So, I thought I’d do the public a service and offer a couple of translations, in the days leading up to the event.

“I’ll leave that with ya.” is Australian for “I’m going somewhere else and couldn’t give a damn about what happens to whatever it is we were doing together up until now”

“When do ya shut, mate?” is Australian for “I know you were intending to close the museum in ten minutes, but guess what, it ain’t going to happen.  You’ll have to drag us out of here kicking and friggin’ screaming.”

Leave a Reply

