Ditmar Nominations

So, the Ditmar nomination form is out. I guess if I was to be technically correct I should say that the second round of Ditmar nominations is out, the first consisting of Australians who are “known” in the Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror world filling out a blank ballot for a number of categories ( Best Novel, Best Short Story, etc.) The short list is taken from the nominations put forward on these blank ballots.

Blank ballots… That’s the scariest thing about the process, if you ask me. Multiple choice questions are the preferred option of school children and gameshow contestants worldwide for a reason, I think. It’s easier when somebody narrows the choices, and sometimes, whe those narrowed choices inckude my name on the shortlist, I can do a little happy dance.

Anyway, allow me to call your attention to the following category, if I may.

Best New Talent
* Pete Kempshall
* Kathleen Jennings
* Thoraiya Dyer
* Jason Fischer
* Simon Petrie
* Christopher Green
* Peter M. Ball

Pete Kempshall’s one of the guns in my writing group and, not only are Clarion South co-conspirators Jason and Peter nominated in the Best New Talent category, as well as being up against each other for Best Novella! Thoraiya’s like a friend I haven’t yet had the pleasure of meeting.Β  Hell, Paul Haines is on the list and he’s probably having too much fun in Disneyland to even know it yet.Β  πŸ™‚

Honestly, once I look at the names (which I’ll get to in a second) and see the kind of company I’m in (even Rob Hood, one of my Clarion teachers) I’m thrilled to even be thought of in the same breath as most of these people.

So, here’s the 2010 ballot…

Best Novel
* Leviathan, Scott Westerfeld (Penguin)
* Liar, Justine Larbalestier (Bloomsbury)
* World Shaker, Richard Harland (Allen& Unwin)
* Slights, Kaaron Warren (Angry Robot Books)
* Life Through Cellophane, Gillian Polack (Eneit Press)

Best Novella or Novelette
* β€œSiren Beat”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Twelfth Planet Press)
* β€œBlack Water”, David Conyers (Jupiter Magazine)
* β€œAfter the World: Gravesend”, Jason Fischer (Black House Comics)
* β€œHorn”, Peter M. Ball (Twelfth Planet Press)
* β€œWives”, Paul Haines (X6/Couer de Lion)

Best Short Story
* β€œThe Piece of Ice in Ms Windermere’s Heart”, Angela Slatter (New Ceres
Nights, Twelfth Planet Press)
* β€œSix Suicides”, Deborah Biancotti (A Book of Endings, Twelfth Planet
* β€œBlack Peter”, Marty Young (Festive Fear, Tasmaniac Publications)
* β€œSeventeen”, Cat Sparks (Masques, CSFG)
* β€œTontine Mary”, Kaaron Warren (New Ceres Nights, Twelfth Planet Press)
* β€œProsperine When it Sizzles”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (New Ceres Nights,
Twelfth Planet Press)

Best Collected Work
* The New Space Opera 2, edited by Jonathan Strahan and Gardner Dozois
* New Ceres Nights, edited by Alisa Krasnostein and Tehani Wessely
(Twelfth Planet Press)
* Slice Of Life, Paul Haines, edited by Geoffrey Maloney (The Mayne Press)
* A Book of Endings, edited by Deborah Biancotti, Alisa Krasnostein and
Ben Payne (Twelfth Planet Press)
* Eclipse Three, edited by Jonathan Strahan (Night Shade Books)

Best Artwork
* Cover art, New Ceres Nights (Twelfth Planet Press), Dion Hamill
* Cover art, The Whale’s Tale (Peggy Bright Books), Eleanor Clarke
* Cover art and illustrations, Shards: Short Sharp Tales (Brimstone
Press), Andrew J. McKiernan
* Cover art, Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine #42, Lewis Morley
* Cover art, β€œHorn” (Twelfth Planet Press), Dion Hamill
* Cover art, Masques (CSFG), Mik Bennett

Best Fan Writer
* Tansy Rayner Roberts, for body of work
* Chuck McKenzie, for work in Horrorscope
* Robert Hood, for Undead Backbrain (roberthood.net/blog)
* Tehani Wessely, for body of work
* Bruce Gillespie, for work in Steam Engine Time

Best Fan Artist
* Dave Schembri, for work in Midnight Echo
* Kathleen Jennings, for body of work
* Dick Jenssen, for body of work

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium
* Interstellar Ramjet Scoop , edited by Bill Wright
* A Writer Goes on a Journey (awritergoesonajourney.com), edited by
Nyssa Pascoe et al
* ASif! (asif.dreamhosters.com), edited by Alisa Krasnostein, Gene
Melzack et al
* Australian Science Fiction Bullsheet (bullsheet.sf.org.au), edited by
Edwina Harvey and Ted Scribner
* Steam Engine Time , edited by Bruce Gillespie and Janine Stinson

Best Achievement
* Alisa Krasnostein, Liz Grzyb, Tehani Wessely, Cat Sparks and Kate
Williams, for the New Ceres Nights booklaunch
* H. Gibbens, for the Gamers’ Quest CGI-animated book trailer
* Ruth Jenkins and Cathy Jenkins-Rutherford, for the children’s program
at Conjecture
* Amanda Rainey, for the cover design of Siren Beat/Roadkill (Twelfth
Planet Press)
* Gillian Polack et al, for the Southern Gothic banquet at Conflux

Best New Talent
* Pete Kempshall
* Kathleen Jennings
* Thoraiya Dyer
* Jason Fischer
* Simon Petrie
* Christopher Green
* Peter M. Ball

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review
* Chuck McKenzie, for β€œThe Dead Walk! … Into a Bookstore Near You” (Eye
of Fire #1, Brimstone Press)
* Ian Mond, for reviews on his blog (mondyboy.livejournal.com)
* Grant Watson, for reviews and articles for Eiga: Asian Cinema
* Helen Merrick, for The Secret Feminist Cabal: a cultural history of
science fiction feminisms (Aqueduct Press)

*Marty Young’s also in my crit group, and I had the joy of seeing “Black Peter” in an earlier draft form.Β  It’s very worthy of sitting alongside the other stories in its category and I hope it gets some of the attentin it deserves.

Voting for the Ditmar Award is conducted in accordance with the rules
specified at http://wiki.sf.org.au/Ditmar_rules, and is open to members
of Dudcon III (including supporting members) and to members of
Conjecture who were eligible to vote in the 2009 Award. Voting in all
award categories is by the optional preferential system, and each
eligible individual may vote only once. All ballots (including emailed
ballots) should include the name and address of the voter. If you have
questions regarding the ballot or voting procedure, please email


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: