Well…

I think I have a disease. Perhaps a lot of writers get it. It’s Author Alzheimer’s.

Seriously, over the course of a story I go through so many plot, character, dialogue and setting permutations that I pretty much have no chance of remembering every details of a story I’ve written more than a year ago. It makes it fun when I go back and read my own stuff, if I have a moment where I am pleased at my own wit, and embarrassing when someone wants to discuss one of my stories with me and it turns out that they are far more aware of the events than I am…

5 responses to “Well…

  • Thoraiya

    I have that problem and end up using the same character names over and over without knowing.

    Eek!

  • Helen

    Thank goodness I’m not the only one.

  • Jess

    But Chris, what about that awesome thing Sonia does at the climax of that story? How did you come up with such a brilliant solution?

  • christophergreen

    Thoraiya – As do I. If/when I do have kids, I’m already pretty well stocked up on Baby Name books…

    Helen – Perhaps it’s more common than I know? Contagious, even?

    Jess – The only reason that didn’t work is that I knew I’d have spelled Sonja with a ‘j’ or a ‘y’. Oh, and the fact that I tend to not associate myself with brilliance. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Jess

    Curses, foiled! ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

