So, let’s see if this works

This’ll be my first post written with my iPad. My Dad bought me one about a month or so ago. I’m not an Apple guy, really. I don’t buy that a PC needs to be more “user friendly” and I like my mouse to have more than 1 button (like, let’s say, 8 or 9 at a minimum) but the iPad is really pretty incredible.

For the first week or so, I told myself that it was a device more for consumption than creation. After all, it seemed to be way easier to watch movie and tv shows, to check my email from the couch, to boot up the planetarium app and wow the astronomers I work with than it was to sit down and write.

But it isn’t. It make it easy to do -everything-, which means I have to be even more disciplined when I write. The virtual keyboard is pretty damn accurate, but for anything than this blog post I find it much more comfortable to set iPad down somewhere and type on the Bluetooth keyboard my dad also sent me. (And no, he isn’t looking to adopt any adult “children”. Find your own awesome Father.)

So, Ipad yes, writing yes. Probably the best thing, in my opinion, is the battery life. It’s amazing, way longer than the advertised 10 hours. If I had to guess, and I do, since I haven’t drained the battery dry yet, I’d say it’s somewhere around 14 hours. That’s insane, really, and a he’ll of a boon for a guy like me who needs time to space out in front of a computer without worrying about if I should be closing the netbook up in the meantime.

There are a ton of different ways to write, though. I think this one is working for me, and that’s all that matters…

P.S. I can’t, as yet, edit on this thing, though. I still need a mouse to drag stuff around and play with the order of words and sentences.

Leave a Reply

