“Father’s Kill” is in the current issue of Beneath Ceaseless Skies

The fortnightly magazine Beneath Ceaseless Skies has published my short story “Father’s Kill“, and I’m really excited.  I sold this story last year (on Halloween!) and have been chomping at the bit to see what people think of a little twist on the werewolf mythos…

6 responses to ““Father’s Kill” is in the current issue of Beneath Ceaseless Skies

  • K.C. Ball

    Congratulations on the publication of “Father’s Kill”. Great story!

  • christophergreen

    Thanks, K.C. I’m very glad you liked it! I don’t often like “sting in the tail” stories, but this one was fun to write.

  • Jason Fischer

    I really enjoyed this story, hits all the right notes (and, werewolves dood!). You’re a writer to watch, Mr Green 🙂

  • christophergreen

    Thanks, man. That really does mean a lot, coming from Jason “rising star” Fischer.

  • Kimberly L. Robinson

    I am a big fan of Beneath Ceaseless Skies; I always wait with anticipation for the next issue to come out. I read “Father’s Kill” and I just *had* to write to you. It was really wonderful. It was so scary right at the end that I gasped. I liked that, for a second, I didn’t understand what was going on. Then, of course, I realized. It was scary because the thought of a parent turning into someone or something else is a deep-seated human fear for both children nd adults. And this is especially true if you have already lost one parent at an early age.

    I also like the sparse language you used, as in a fairy tale. And, you know, “the boy” doesn’t have to be dead. He could escape and there could be other stories (hint, hint).

    Really, you made my whole Saturday. Thanks for the story.

    Kimberly

  • christophergreen

    Kimberly,

    I’m really pleased that you enjoyed “Father’s Kill” as much as you did. The end grew from the middle, as they say, and it fell into my head fully-formed, which is always a blessing. I hadn’t thought of writing another story in the same world, but I agree it’d be fun to try.

    If the story made your Saturday, then your comments made my year. Many thanks. 🙂

    ~Christopher

Leave a Reply

