7

93 to go.  I have a feeling I’m going to have to write more stories…

In other news, five chapters of Zombie fun written, although I’m finding novel writing to be a distinct two step process, for me.  Step one: vomit the “this happens, it happens like this, and hey, did I mention that” stuff on to the page, getting from A to B.  Step two: go back in (later, one the whole thing’s “done”) and pick out the peas and line up the carrots.

Still, it’s fun to see how much stuff I can change in the “Zombie mythos”, or outright get rid of, and still try for a story that captures everything I love about the genre.

Anyway, 7 rejections, so far.  Not sure how Peter thinks this is fun, but they do hurt a bit less.  I must admit, though, I have a couple of stories out that I think should sell to the markets they’re at, which is not a good way of thinking.  When those get rejected, I shall be very unPeteresque in my inner monologue…

4 responses to “7

  • Laura E. Goodin

    I’m maintaining my lead — just got another one today! Eleven for me, eleven!

    — Laura

  • christophergreen

    Bah, you’re doing well, for someone who was going to sit this one out. 🙂

  • Ben Francisco

    I’m tied with you at 7, Christopher. Of these, three were of the variety, “We like this quite a lot, but this is not for us,” and one went on in some detail about how the story was well-written but just too plain weird for the editor’s tastes. I’m still trying to decide if that sort of caveat makes me feel better or worse about a rejection.

    And I do the same thing re: market expectations, especially with certain markets I see as a good fit for my stuff. I’m trying to always have the next market lined up in my head before the response comes in, somehow it cushions the blow.

Leave a Reply

