James Patterson and Me

Well, I wanted to wait until the list was posted somewhere public, and it has been.  These are the names and the order of the 30 chapter chain thriller “AirBorne” that James Patterson and 28 other writers will be writing over the course of a month or so.

 

Chapter

First Name

Last Name

1

James

Patterson

2

Lisa

Chambers

3

Mika

Harrison

4

Danelle

Kenny

5

Kylie

Williams

6

Ivana

Troselj

7

Greg

Ong

8

Emma

Ellis

9

Amanda

Clark

10

Vanessa

Garbin

11

Sarah

Ward

12

Sam

Stephens

13

Julie

McGlone

14

Grant

Heymer

15

Andrew

Taylor

16

Fleur

Holyland

17

Marina

Pasika

18

Scott

Jacobs

19

Tina

Evans

20

Christopher

Cowan

21

Lauren

Finger

22

Peta

Greenfield

23

Edward

Palmer

24

Kelly

Armstrong

25

Peter

Stone

27

Dallas

Bland

26

Jennifer

White

28

Alan

Donaldson

29

Christopher

Green

30

James

Patterson

 

Yep.  That’s me, penultimate, right (or should I say write) before the man himself.  Chapters should start appearing, one a day, on http://www.borders.com.au/chain-thriller/home.asp as of the 20th of March.

Now, this’ll be strange, for me, and I’m not sure what the end result will look like.  I haven’t collaborated on anything before, though Chris Lynch and I are in the process of something.  But, with no outline, prior planning, or discussion, it’ll take some very disciplined writers to pull this off.  It sounds like a lot of fun, and it’ll certainly be a challenge.

In case you’re wondering, Random House has reserved the right to rewrite any chapter that isn’t up to scratch, which is more than fair. 

I’m pretty excited about going second to last.  Let’s hope I remember what loose ends to tie up, because it’ll be embarassing for everyone if I freak out and go the “It was all a dream” route, or, worse, Keyser Söze the previously introduced characters.  🙂

Wish us luck!

I don’t think it’ll ever be printed into a hardcopy version (except for the copies given to the winners of their contests) so if you don’t read it online, you may be stuck borrowing my copy if you want to find out how we went…

2 responses to “James Patterson and Me

  • Jason Fischer

    You are a fricken superstar, and as such you’ve got the most work of any of the authors attached to this project. You’ve got to tie your work in with all of the other chapters, start to close it all off, and set it up for James Patterson to finish the story.

    And you can do it. Because you are The Dude. I will be there waving a fistful of cash to buy this book.

    I sign off, with the full assurance that I’m playing bad 80s bogan music in your honour.

    FOR THOSE ABOUT TO ROCK….WE SALUTE YOU.

  • christophergreen

    Thanks, man. I hope I’m able to pull it off. Your crazy bogan anthems will be running through my head if and when I do.

Leave a Reply

